#FrostyVoxBox – New York Color Cosmetics

NYC Expert Last Lip Color in Sugar Plum: $1.99 for 0.11oz (3.2 g)

“Ready to take your lips to the next level? Try our NEW Expert Last Lip Color in twenty tantalizing shades. Get intense, amplified color and shine that lasts up to six hours! Our moisturizing formula glides on easily for a silky, smooth, velvety finish for all day wear.”

 photo DSC04951-lipcropped_zpsac0d05ef.jpg
This is a beautiful colour, one where people would say My Lips But Better.

 photo DSC05092-lips_zps5eda5086.jpg

Goes on smooth but a bit sheer. The surprising thing is, the colour gets deeper as time pass. I swatched it on both my lower arm and the back of my hand, and I saw the deepening of colour as I went on puttering around.

 photo DSC05162-lipsswatch_zps09ee176e.jpg
 photo DSC05152-lipdarker_zpsde8b9da3.jpg

 (After putzing around, it’s not just me right, it’s a little darker?)

On my lips, I didn’t see this change. It went on a sheer mauve-y wash with a bit of shimmer. Looking at the pictures, it had a bit of silver, chrome-y look to it.

 photo DSC05104-lipchange_zps302ed9bf.jpg
It reminded me a little of L’oreal Colour Juice Stick in Strawberry Fields (one of my all time favourite lipstick). Of course the L’oreal is even more sheer, but the finish is similar.

Since L’oreal discontinued that lipstick, I may have found my dupe! I see on New York Colour’s website there are loads more shades, and if I’m not mistaken, #411 Snow Cone may be it. I can’t wait to get my hands on that shade.

I didn’t find that it lasted the full six hours, but it did last through one mug of tea. But by the end of that mug, there were more on my thumb (from wiping the mug, I hate seeing lipsticks/gloss on mugs) than on my lips.
 photo DSC04961-lipswatch_zpsd2660c00.jpg

There’s a distinctive scent when sniffing right out of the tube, but I didn’t catch a hint of it when I have it on. It was after numerous sniffing of my hand that I recognised what it reminded me of. Luden’s Wild Cherry Throat Drops. It certainly brought back memories of elementary school and Winter. Heh.

The packaging is pretty nice and weighted. The colour of the tube matches the colour of the lipstick, including the slight shimmer. I just wished that the lipstick can be rolled down so that the cap won’t catch it accidentally. But maybe it won’t be much of a problem for long, because I really like the colour and texture of this lipstick; it’s gonna be used past that point soon.

Additional image: the ingredients
 photo DSC04941-lipsingredients_zps04edcf4e.jpg


This lovely lipstick was sent in an Influenster Vox Box for my use and review. Ravings are all my own.

About viiixvi

Just call me Mortie.
This entry was posted in Blogmas and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

