Cheery Cookery

With mince pies and cookies all settled, it’s time to think about dinner!

Is a roast not fancy enough for Christmas? But it’s sooo satisfying. Such comfort food.  Plus my mom and dad would love it.

I usually cook a ham and have applesauce and/or slice pineapples as side. And my mom would usually make an awesome Oxtail Borscht soup (羅宋湯) with loads of tomatoes, potatoes, and cabbage. I can just smell the tangy sweetness, my mouth is watering just thinking about my mom’s soup!  And the soup would go oh so well with a rump roast, no?

Of course there’d be dinner rolls. Do I want to make a giant Yorkshire pudding or individual ones? J likes the King’s Hawaiian sweet rolls, so maybe we’ll get a pack of that and make some Yorkshire pudding with grapeseed oil (I made some with butter last year, oh boy was it smoking!).

There’ll be potatoes in the soup, should I make a potato side dish as well? Maybe I’ll complete the fusion with stir-fry bok choy and garlic.

Dinner done! (Cooking for four is so much easier.)

 

About viiixvi

Just call me Mortie.
This entry was posted in Blogmas and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

